It’s easy to think that children are adaptable and robust, but the divorce really shook me. Looking back, I think my anorexia was a cry for help. Being a rugby sevens player, it’s quite a speedy game and our training leading into the Olympics has been intense. Heather Fisher, 35, is an explosive rugby player, but off the pitch she’s battled anorexia, alopecia and faced serious stigma. Living with an eating disorder is like having someone in your body controlling who you are and how you think about yourself. Heather Fisher is a 34-year-old Rugby player. I got into sport because it was the only place where I could be myself.

Heather Margaret Fisher (born 13 June 1984) is an English rugby union and rugby sevens player.

But nothing could prepare me for the blow of losing my hair. I’m currently studying for a master’s degree in strength and conditioning, so I train a lot of young people and it gives me a chance to pass on my experience as an athlete. Wählen Sie aus erstklassigen Inhalten zum Thema Heather Fisher in höchster Qualität. It was a sunny day, I had the windows down, and when I ran my right hand through my hair, a few clumps suddenly flew out the window. I don’t care, it’s their issue – I know who I am.”. It massively knocked my confidence, alongside my parents’ divorce. And then I developed severe anorexia in my mid teens. I thought, if I can’t change my hair, what else can I do? We push ourselves to the absolute max where you feel so sick your insides are hurting. Be Brave. I don’t think an eating disorder ever leaves you. My head was never in the classroom – it was always somewhere else. I started going to counsellors, nutritionists and doctors every night after school to try and work out why it was happening. I still don’t know the cause but it’s impacted my identity as a female athlete over the past decade. It made me feel lost, and I just didn’t know how to deal with it. It’s not about the medals and the money, it’s about the journey we’ve all been on t