I’ll wrap up this post with a few practical tips for driving the Independence Pass: 1. 2. Utterly beautiful but make sure you flex your fingers after the drive to let the blood flow back to your knuckles. It is in fact a narrow winding road for most of the drive. As we got to the sharp switchbacks of the pass itself, snow appeared on the shoulders. You might enjoy this article about how stars looked in the past and future: https://www.wired.com/2015/03/gifs-show-constellations-transforming-150000-years/. Aspen, CO – Mountain Pass Independence Pass (12,095 ft), originally called Hunter Pass, is a mountain pass along the Continental Divide accessed by Highway 82 that connects Aspen to Twin Lakes. All rights reserved (c) 2019 TripMemos.com. I'm a product manager and photographer. Unfortunately, drivers become so encompassed with pulling over and taking pictures, they often fail to realize that on this very road, there are trails that lead to concealed ice caves, waterfalls and a cliff diving hotspot. When you need a break from the F&W mayhem, check out (ta && ta.queueForLoad ? Opinions expressed by Forbes Contributors are their own. And it grew in height as we kept climbing…. The last time I saw the Milky Way this clear and in such darkness that I could not see my hand in front of my face was in the 1960’s atop Pond Mtn., Ashe County NC. But then I also first encountered how spectacular the night sky is when you’re away from light pollution. It’s safe, however, if you take it easy and use common sense. 4 years ago. Bikers should especially be careful when driving down this pass. PSICC, Twin Lakes to Aspen, CO 81251, USA, United States. I was quite cold, but I pushed on knowing that I had only one shot at a photo like this. The road is steep, narrow and twisty with only a few guardrails but is completely safe. But instead of heading back to Denver when you’re finished, a great weekend topper would be to head to Colorado Springs and the Broadmoor Hotel, a vast, chill, ol